More about Dimensions.

Neha,

So here’s the run down of my Dimensions weekend experience. My parents and I got to Hanover, NH about 24 hours before Dimensions was scheduled to start, which gave us time to explore the area, the campus, and the local eateries. On Thursday, the day Dimensions started, we had breakfast and looked around some more until the afternoon when we had to go sign in for the start of Dimensions.

The upperclassmen greeted us prospies with a huge packet of information, which for some reason included a sparse list of 7 very specific places we could fill up our water bottles (strange but funny), and other freebies. It took a little time getting into the swing of things but soon I found myself conversing with a group of strangers while my parents were off to go itinerize their weekend (all or most of the programs for the weekend were open to students and parents). I eventually met up with my host, whose room I was going to be sleeping in for the next two nights, and we made our way to his dorm so I could unload my baggage. I ended up staying in East Wheelock, which is a little bit farther from the Big Green than the other dorm clusters, which is the courtyard with the X roads that you see basically on every photo of Dartmouth.

The rest of the day proceeded with welcome shows, performances by the many a Capella, dance, and instrumental groups, and speeches from staff and upperclassmen. Every nook and cranny of our remaining time was filled with programs, symposiums, and activities, all anchored with the aim of getting us enamored with the college. During Friday and Saturday I found myself going to a pre-med symposium, sitting in on a class about music addiction, and enjoying barbeque on the Green. Other notable events included an Engineering exhibit (where you got a TON of free stuff, including a top that looks like Dom’s totem in Inception), Real Talk (an uncensored Q&A with upperclassmen; you should have heard some of the questions [the upperclassmens’ reaction]), and Creativity in Motion (a show). At nights, we were led on tours into the forests nearby and into frat dance parties, all of which were dry, of course. Saturday night was the big show (which I talked about in my last post), which really sealed the deal for many of us.

Friday and Saturday nights I probably got fewer than 6 hours of sleep; I found myself wandering back from a really late group tour and staying up talking with my newly-befriended in the commons area until 4 in the morning. Needless to say, it was an amazing time and the two missed weeks of school and subsequent C on the Monday bio test was made up for. It’s been almost four months since I was last on campus and I’m itching to go back and see everyone I met the first time again.

Christopher

Leave a comment